Skip to main content

By Jarrod Horak

The Breeders’ Cup Sprint is one of the original seven BC races, and Eillo was the initial winner at Hollywood Park in 1984. The 2023 renewal will be held at Santa Anita Park on Saturday, Nov. 4, and they will be dashing six furlongs on the main track.

Recent Breeders’ Cup Sprint Results

Elite Power followed up a win in the Grade 2 Vosburgh in New York (Belmont at Aqueduct) with a rallying victory from post 6 at 5-1 odds in the 2022 BC Sprint at Keeneland. He is expected to ship to Santa Anita Park in 2023 for a repeat attempt.

Aloha West rallied from post 5 to nip my top choice Dr. Schivel in 2021 at Del Mar and he was exiting a place finish in the Phoenix (G2) at Keeneland.

In the 2020 renewal at Keeneland, Whitmore rallied from post 7 to win at 18-1 and was exiting a 4th in the Phoenix (G2). Mitole was the 2019 winner and he prepped for the BC with a win in the Grade 1 Forego at Saratoga.

Roy H went back-to-back in 2017-18 (post 8, post 9) and was exiting victories in the Santa Anita Sprint Championship (G1) both times. Drefong won this event from post 2 in 2016 at Santa Anita and was exiting a victory in the King’s Bishop (G1) at Saratoga.

Click here to read the rest of this article at Today’s Racing Digest

Jarrod Horak

Jarrod Horak posts stakes recaps from Del Mar and Santa Anita Park, along with full card recaps and free stakes picks from Southern and/or Northern California.